Addicks United Methodist ChurCh
The friendly “little country church” on Highway 6...
The mission of Addicks United Methodist Church is increasing love for God and neighbor.
We express this love through worship, fellowship, learning, and service.
AUMC is a wonderful place to experience new life through Jesus Christ. You are invited to join in this faith journey of believing, belonging, and becoming under the leadership of the Holy Spirit.
Addicks United Methodist Church was organized in 1879 as Bear Creek German Methodist Church.
The first building was erected on Patterson Road in 1890, and was moved to Addicks-Satsuma Road (now State Highway 6) in 1903.
After a hurricane destroyed the building in 1915, the present sanctuary was built using some of the original lumber.
The local federal flood control project forced another move in 1948 to the present location.
The church has supplied six men for the ministry and one woman for full-time Christian work in its 125-plus years as an active congregation.
Dr. Richard G. Penna began serving AUMC in the summer of 2009.